top of page



The Independent Sovereign Maori State-Nation, Wha Atua Aotearoa, and the Maori Government of Aotearoa are an Independent Sovereign State and Nation, and NOT under or part-of the Colonial Government of New Zealand jurisdiction and The Crown/United Kingdom of Great Britain & Ireland or its laws, according to Maori Law and International Law.


The Independent Sovereign Maori State-Nation, Wha Atua Aotearoa, and the Maori Government of Aotearoa Sovereign Powers, Authority, and Laws originate from Article 2 of the 1835 Declaration of Independence signed on 28th October 1835 by 34 Maori Chiefs according to International Law.


The 1835 Declaration of Independence was signed and recognized by James Busby Consular for United Kingdom of Great Britain & Ireland, James Clendon Consular for the U.S.A., Secretary of Colonies Governor Burke for the New South Wales Government of Australia. The Dutch Government’s East India Company representative, Henry Williams, George Clark, Gilbert Mair, et al.

bottom of page